Am I crazy or what?

What a week. Check that, what a past couple of weeks. My mind has been completely turned to mush because of a recent decision to shake things up in my life. Drumroll, please … I have decided to go back to school to get an MBA [insert sigh, chuckle, whatever you want to say]. Well, at least I hope to.

It’s something that I’ve been mulling over for some time. I’m presently taking a prep class for my GMAT (thanks to Kaplan; shameless plug) and will take the actual test in early
September but not after taking a good 6-7 practice tests. It’s an online class that meets twice a week late at night and so far it’s been great (or ‘Awesome’ as my teacher loves to say) because it’s been exercising my brain as I attempt to re-engage my mind into the world of academia.

My brain hurt so much from the first day’s activities that the discomfort carried over into the next day. I do have to admit, though, that the work online or in the course workbooks has been positive and fun yet frustrating at times.

Let’s just say that it’s been a while since I’ve been in a classroom. Yes, there were computers back then but the Internet was just taking shape, and I even remember getting to the library from time to time.

I will be pursuing the degree the same way I’m taking the Kaplan GMAT class – online.  My hope is that when (noticed I didn’t use the word if) I come away with a solid GMAT
score and get accepted into school, I’m looking at beginning classes in January. I’ve got a school in mind but don’t want to jinx things. I still have to apply but the thought of getting an MBA is both scary and exciting at the same time.

The last time I was in a classroom setting was fall 1995 at Southeast Missouri State University, where I was a graduate student in the sport information office and taking classes for a M.A. in public administration. I was a lot younger and immature but I found a way to plow through 21 hours of classes while working 50 hours a week as an SID only to pull out of school after landing a full-time job.

What I do hope is that this next chapter in my life gives me plenty to discuss (good and bad) socially online, whether it’s in this blog, on Twitter, Facebook or even Google Plus. My time exploring and learning more about these social media sites (for business purposes) has taken a hit of late but it’s still allowing me to tweet from time to time, either at home, on the road or even at networking events. Heck, my internal battery is holding up better than the one in my BlackBerry.

This reminds me that I better recharge it soon. The same goes for me.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Am I crazy or what?

  1. Vicki Lynn (Belcer) says:

    I think this is awesome of you to do! Go for it! Oh and thanks a lot for the google reader comment on FB, now I am addicted!

Leave a Reply

