Social Media is Great, But Nothing Compares to In-Person Interaction

Well, it’s been a while since I’ve written on my blog. It hasn’t been for a lack of topics to talk about but rather how I was going to put it on paper (or in this case, online).  If I haven’t mentioned this yet, I really, really enjoy social media. I can’t tell you how many times I’m on Twitter each day or checking into places on foursquare but it’s enough that it is now an addiction.

For the longest time it was always Facebook where I went to find out the latest but lately I’ve used that more to catch up with friends and family, and oh yeah an occasional game or two.  If I want the latest in real-time information I rely on Twitter. Heck, it’s where I confirmed that yes indeed I did feel that earthquake while working at home.

Is the whole idea of social media getting in the way of how we used to communicate?  I’m sure it has for many.  I mean, before there were any social media tools there was email, IM and texting. Email became a big deal in my old profession of college athletics. Instead of sending out information via snail mail, you could contact a colleague via email and on occasion some would pick up the phone.

As much as I love social media (even ask my wife), I sometimes really do miss the old days of the verbal communication that used to take place all the time.  No cell phones or computers. Now many of us, including yours truly, hide behind emails, Facebook and Twitter and don’t utilize face to face communication (or even calls from my phone) as much as we used to.

My best example is the recent trip that Jennifer and I made to NY for my cousin’s wedding. Many of my cousins and aunts are on Facebook, and I have to admit it’s a great way to keep track with everyone especially since my family is scattered from coast to coast. I know some of my family signed up on Facebook only to take a peek and see what’s going on with everyone, and I think that’s great.  Up until the wedding there were some family members that we haven’t seen since our wedding, and that was nine years ago.

As good as it was to see photos and status updates from everyone, nothing compared to seeing everyone in person.  Some of my cousins have grown up and graduated college and are now among the working while some are still in college or even high school (there’s a 26-year gap between the oldest and youngest cousin).  Talking face to face with everyone
and seeing everyone have a good time meant more to me that words can express.  Probably one of the best things that came out of seeing everyone was having lunch with a cousin who is 20 years younger than me.  That time gave me a chance to really get to know her as an adult. That sort of interaction you really can’t get on Facebook or any other social media vehicle.

I get that everyone’s life is crazy and hectic and since we don’t live that close to any family members (not counting parents), I guess I can get by using those very same social media tools that hinder our verbal communication to stay in touch. But believe me when I say that if we ever travel to close enough to family you better believe I will definitely pick up the phone.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Social Media is Great, But Nothing Compares to In-Person Interaction

  1. Love this post – truer words were never spoken!

Leave a Reply

